RSS

I’M LOVIN IT/ The Kenyan experience

07 May

Amosou Osiepe ga? (Luo) How are you all?

If there is a place more green than Wikondiek, I would love to see it! Kenya is amazing and home to some of the friendliest people in this world. When we arrived my lovely family picked us up from Nairobi airport Saturday night and took care of us until we departed on Tuesday evening (that’s what east African curtsey and hospitality is all about). My aunt Sofia and my cousin Alisha took us to a Somali community in Kenya called Islee, If anyone thought there were many Somali’s in Dixion,Toronto, you have no idea just how many Somali there are in Islee (LOVEDDDDDDDDD IT).

We have been blessed in many ways since we have been here and for that I say Alhamduliah, too often I forget how blessed I am in my new home Canada and one of the many lessons I learned in 7 days is to appreciate the little things in life, the big things, things that may seem not to matter, just take the time to love life. Everyone in the community of Wikondiek is fantastic, when you meet someone you shake hands and when you leave you shake hands, and here’s the best part people are actually genuine when they say hello!

I am learning Luo, which is the native language of the community of Wikondiek, I’m actually picking up quite fast and the people here are so proud of me and very happy to see that I a Somali/Eritrean/Canadian and now Kenyan have taken such an interest. It’s a blessing to be here, it’s hard to explain but you just feel so honored to share the lives of people who live differently and are happy and joyful.

It’s hot and sunny during the day, and it rains sometimes but we can even play in the rain. I have laughed plenty and I know I will continue to smile and enjoy this experience. At night it gets super dark and it’s easy to sleep, there’s a very loud cricket that likes to keep me awake but i’v learned to deal with him :). We have made many friends Zaporah, Onyango, Eric, and Izadorah who are some of the most free spirited and wonderful people that one can hope to meet.

I am teaching English in standard 5 and form 2, Social Studies in standard 6 and 7, and business and geography in form 1. I am thrilled to announce that I will be helping with the putting on of a play in a regional competition and I look forward to providing western themes in combination to our African themes of drama to create MAGIC!

Love and miss everyone and I hope you are all blessed and well, please don’t be a stranger to my blog as there are some wonderful events to come, I just know it! Keep in touch and enjoy a properious and hopefully hot summer Canada.

Eru Kamano Oriti

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment