RSS

Water is Life!

15 May

Omoso Ou Canada,

Well I was in the midst of finishing my blog when the generator in the computer shop just went off so I hope I can recall everything i wrote before. The funny thing is when the generator died the people here just looked at me and said ‘This is Africa’! and so it is lol.

Now, where was I? Yes, I have taken water for granted for a very long time and I am learning fast that water is LIFE!Weather we are talking about Mombasa, Nairobi, Kisumu or Wikondiek water is not easy to come across, especially clean water, The people here boil the water they find to kill the germs and make it drinkable. I have had long showers, flush able toilette’s and cold water in Canada for long and took them all for granted and now I am learning a lesson well deserved and need in my life. I bathe from a bucket where I combine hot and cold water and it has become a relaxing and extremely enjoyable way of showering. It reduces the amount of energy I waste in the shower and forces a me to go through a bit of labor to fetch the water. I have also began drinking water even though Fanta and Del Monte juices (YUMMMMM) are available and what do you know, I dropped 6 pounds this week! I love my water and I promise never to take it for granted when I return because water is truly life.

I love my students and they love me right back which is awesome, yes I taught them what awesome means and they are using it quite a bit! My students are helping me learn their culture and they are super excited and proud of me when I am able to communicate with them in Luo/Swahili. They are learning about big hugs with me, they feel shy sometimes because they are used to shaking hands but they are opening up to hugging and secretly I think they enjoy them too.

My standard 8 class would like to perform a western play for their community so I don’t know exactly which one they will choose but I promise to take pictures and post them so Canada and the world can see Africa’s open hearts and open minds. I wrote my business exam and gave it out Thursday some of my students failed, most passed and those who love to chat with Ms Sucdi, oh yes they got very high marks just like I knew they would. When my students come to class they always do well, sometimes they are unable to come and that is when their marks suffer. My grade 5 English is grrreeaatttt and they are currently learning how to write letters. My form 2 English which is English grade 10 is amazing and loves to read, write, discuss the books/plays, and even act out some of the scenes from the book. We are currently reading Kenyan author Ngugi wa Thiong’o’s book The River Between, which is an amazing book as I expect nothing less from Mr. Thiong’o.

It’s really hot outside and I am getting very dark that it’s even shocking Brianna. I think the sun missed me all those years I was in Canada and since she doesn’t know when I’ll be back she is trying to give me all of her love and more while I am here. I love you too my African Sun!

Anyway I must go because I am super scared the generator will die again and I will loose my post. Love you all my family, friends and Canada. But Canada you must not spoil me so much when I return and bit of labor would do me justice as it has done so far in Kenya.

Sucdi

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Water is Life!

  1. Cyrissa

    May 25, 2011 at 5:03 am

    Hey Sucdi, I was reading through your blog and your experience and what your doing for the children of Kenya sounds wonderful! I’m so glad to hear your having an amazing time and it’s great to see what you’ve been up to these days 🙂

    I do wish you all the best and send prayers to you from Canada that you are safe and return home safely. In the mean time however, ENJOY yourself! lol Hope to hear and see you soon.

     
    • Sucdi-Salama

      May 27, 2011 at 1:37 pm

      Thanks Cyrissa

      It’s truly an honor to be here among my fellow African people and I am excited to hear from you and I wish you an amazing summer and I hope to see you soon as well to tell you all about my trip in person.

      ~S~

       
  2. estelliewanj

    June 8, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    Sucdi do you have any photos? send them!! and the competition that u were disqualified from i like that story, sounds like its a story from a movie or book or play? HINT ! but holla and send pictures i’m too excited i wanna see them sooo badly!

     
    • Sucdi-Salama

      June 25, 2011 at 9:23 am

      sure babe i have lots of photos but i forgot my usb cord 😦 but hopefully i’ll get a new one soon! luv ya

       
  3. estelliewanj

    June 8, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    oh ya this is Esther!!! of course!

     

Leave a comment