RSS

Adenade/ Adi Ma Ber

27 May

Omoso Ou World?

What is the definition of beauty in Kenya? The definition of beauty in Kenya is full figured women, natural beauty/ no makeup, hard work, intelligence and a pure and honest heart and soul. Slender females which we believe in the West are beautiful body types are not so beautiful here in Kenya. In general terms in the case of Africa full figured bodies are signs of outer body beauty and I love that about this continent. Everyday someone in the village tells me how beautiful they think I am and it is so honoring to be in a society that really means what they say and has the time to tell everyone something special about themselves everyday.

Yesterday I took my standard 7 and 8 classes to a music festival which they practiced long and hard for. They performed Shakira’s “Waka Waka” and Akon’s “Oh Africa” and they danced a choreographed dance for each and they performed them beautifully with not even one mistake. I also taught my 7’s K’Naan’s Waving flag which 2 students male and female rap and the class sings the chorus but each class was only allowed 1 song so they couldn’t perform it. They judges were really rude to us and I was really surprised because we have been welcomed everywhere we go. At first they were happy to see a Somali with Kenyan’s, that was before they found out I taught them English mixed songs by African artists then they flipped the script on me. It was especially frustrating and they disqualified us after performance after we won 1st first in each competition for get this for “copyright infringement of the songs”, they wanted me to contact Shakira and Akon to get written permission sent by them to perform the songs at a damn talent show. As my students and the teachers at Wikondiek put it “Corruption”!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s all good thought because my students both classes made me so proud I even cried at how perfect their performance was and I am so thankful to be with them. They had a blast practicing and performing, getting away from the school. When my kids smile and are happy so am I and they know they are number one regardless of anything, and our relationship is that much tighter!

We shared about 6 big group hugs and we are so excited to perform for our community to raise money for either the nursery school to be built or the community dispensary.

Live, Learn and Love Life

Oriti

Sucdi

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment